FanDuel Wins Online Sportsbook of the Year

Latest News

FanDuel has earned the 2022 Online Sportsbook of the Year award at The American Gambling Awards.

The AGA’s

The American Gambling Awards honors companies, organizations, and individuals achieving excellence in the casino and sports betting industry.

The awards are produced by Group Limited. Instead of their usual awards ceremony, this year’s winners and judges will be invited to attend a VIP dinner in New York in December. 

The awards organization has returned this year from a hiatus since its last competition in 2019. It is obvious how vastly the gambling industry has changed since then because both the Online Sportsbook of the Year and Online Casino of the Year categories were not present then. Today, these online markets make up a significant percentage of operators’ overall revenue.

Along with the new title, The American Gambling Award winners are granted a custom-made Golden Eagle trophy. This trophy features a statue of the U.S. national bird accompanied by a pile of casino chips. The eagle trophy is gold plated, 11 inches tall, and was produced by Society Awards (the same company that makes Oscar, Emmy, and Golden Globe awards).

Other Online Sportsbooks

2022 was a vast year of growth for sports betting and online sportsbooks. Operators have found that sports betting is especially popular among users under the age of 40. Not only did the usual lucrative sports (NFL, NBA, MLB) bring in impressive revenue this year, but November also marked the start of the FIFA World Cup, an event held only every four years.

FanDuel was nominated alongside many other outstanding online sportsbooks this year. Finalist Caesars Sportsbook operates in 24 states and is constantly rolling out promotions for its users. DraftKings Sportsbook was also nominated in this category and is widely known for its daily fantasy sports platform. DraftKings online Sportsbook is available in 18 states. 

FanDuel’s Win

FanDuel Sportsbook was launched in 2018 first in New Jersey. The online sportsbook is now available in Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Tennessee, Virginia, Michigan, Arizona, Connecticut, New York, Louisiana, Wyoming, Kansas, and Maryland. 

The American Gambling Awards judges took note of how FanDuel Sportsbook takes great pride in what it offers its customers. It is easy to sign up and start betting on FanDuel Sportsbook. FanDuel offers seamless and innovative ways to withdraw money with real-time payments and quick linking functionality with debit cards and other forms of online banking. The company offers regular promotions (including Same Game Parlay+) to keep sports fans interested. FanDuel makes it clear that customer engagement is always at the forefront of this operator’s mind. FanDuel Sportsbook also has many strong partnerships that have contributed to its growth, including the gaming platform Gaming Society and Sportradar for its NBA data. 

When announcing the win, Chief Executive Officer of Group Charles Gillespie, said, “FanDuel is one of the most recognized and trusted online sportsbook brands in the U.S. due to its customer-first initiatives and product innovation, and is very deserving of receiving the Online Sportsbook of the Year award. FanDuel’s offerings provide an unparalleled experience for its customers, setting them apart from their competitors.”

This win further establishes FanDuel as the top online sportsbook in the United States and will most likely act as a catalyst of improvement for other competitor sportsbooks.

Mac Daniel is a Michigan native and freelance writer for PlayOnlineCasino and PlayOnlineSportsBetting. He has experience writing about a wide variety of topics, including healthcare, tourism, non-profit organizations, and most recently casino and sportsbetting news. To check out more of his work, visit: